Lately, I’ve been seeing a lot of posts on Facebook about people being introverts. Being an introvert has become a sought after quality, like it’s some sort of great thing. But it’s not a quality at all, it’s a way of life.

All my life I was told I was an extrovert because I can be social. I know how to talk to people. I know how to make friends easily.

What they didn’t understand was how exhausting that can be. 

At the end of the day all I want to do is put on my pajamas, be alone (with my dog), make a warm cup of tea, and binge on the newest Netflix original. 

When I go out and socialize, I’m forcing myself to do so. When my friends laugh that it’s so hard to get me to go out, it’s because it’s hard to force myself to.

We’re also told this is a sign of depression, which terrified me for years and made me force myself to go out on a regular basis, but after a bout of depression, I realized I was never depressed before. 

People don’t truly understand what being an introvert is unless they are one. You don’t understand that relationships become hard because you find yourself locking yourself in the bathroom to read and have a half hour to spend alone. They don’t understand how hard friendships can be because unless you find someone like you, they think you’re ignoring them or don’t try hard enough. And they don’t understand how hard it can be to socialize for more than a couple hours in a week.

I feel like people think being an introvert is great because we are loyal, we don’t party, and you can usually find us in bed. But those are qualities that anyone can have. 

Being an actual introvert is hard. It’s exhausting. So please don’t say you are one unless you truly are. 

