​Today I came across this quote:

“She’s not getting drunk for the hell of it, she’s getting drunk to numb the hell of it” – Sean Bates

And it really struck a chord in me.

I’m an educated, intelligent young woman. I have responsibilities and an actual life. On a normal Saturday night, you can find me snuggling with my dog, binging Gossip Girl, and playing sudoku.

But not this Saturday. This Saturday is different, because my heart is broken.

Every other weekend of the year, I’m perfectly happy recovering from my previous work week, as a lot of other people.

But then something happens in your life. Maybe it’s something to celebrate. Maybe it’s a vacation. But more often than not, we go out to forget something. Or someone.

I know I’m beautiful, and I know I’m a catch. I shouldn’t need reassurance, but there’s nothing like going out after a heart break and getting the attention you need. And posting snapchats to make that guy jealous.

It’s not an excuse to go out all the time, but damn, I deserve a couple weekends a year to numb the pain. 

For me, that’s this weekend.

So here’s to the weekends we forget, so we can remember when they get better.

